Spain CT Sergio Scariolo announces the 22-man roster for the Pre-Olympic Tournament

Scariolo: "We will try to give everything we have"

Spanish National Team CT Sergio Scariolo has announced the 22-player roster in preparation for the Valencia Pre-Olympic, set to begin July 2. With Rudy Fernández at the helm, the return of Lorenzo Brown and 10 European champions, the CT has summoned a total of 22 players from which he will choose the 12 for the Pre-Olympic. The first players will begin the initial phase of preparation next Monday, June 10, in Malaga, while the rest of the players will be incorporated progressively after the end of their respective club seasons.

Scariolo’s comment:

“We have 22 players, fifteen of them will begin working from Monday, June 10, while the others will join as they finish their commitments in their respective leagues in Spain, Greece and Israel.

“We have an important challenge, which is to qualify for the Olympic Games, a tournament that determines the elite teams, which interests all sports fans, as well as those who follow basketball. Also, it would be the sixth edition of the Games for our captain, Rudy Fernández, something that motivates us. Playing at home might add pressure, but I am convinced that the Valencia fans will help us in difficult moments. Our task will be to recreate that atmosphere at the collective level, which will allow us to maximize our strengths and minimize our weaknesses. We will try to give everything we have.”

The list:

·  Alberto Abalde (Real Madrid), 24 caps
·  Álex Abrines (Barça), 57 caps
·  Santi Aldama (Memphis Grizzlies), 10 caps
·  Darío Brizuela (Barça), 50 caps
·  Lorenzo Brown (Maccabi Playtika Tel Aviv), 15 caps
·  Alberto Díaz (Unicaja), 36 caps
·  Rudy Fernández (Real Madrid), 255 caps
·  Sergi García (Río Breogán), 8 caps
·  Usman Garuba (Golden State Warriors), 31 caps
·  Fran Guerra ( Lenovo Tenerife), 12 caps
·  Juancho Hernangómez (Panathinaikos), 64 caps
·  Willy Hernangómez (Barça), 93 caps
·  Sergio Llull(Real Madrid), 162 caps
·  Xabi López-Arostegui (Valencia Basket), 38 caps
·  Juan Núñez (Ratiopharm Ulm), 17 caps
·  Joel Parra (Barça), 37 caps
·  Jaime Pradilla (Valencia Basket), 25 caps
·  Josep Puerto (Valencia Basket), no caps
·  Miquel Salvó (Dreamland Gran Canaria), 7 caps
·  Yankuba Sima (Unicaja), 12 caps
·  Edgar Vicedo (Lenovo Tenerife), 8 caps
·  Santi Yusta (Casademont Zaragoza), 10

Post your comment