DIRECTV and Basketball Champions League Americas announce partnership for Argentina, Chile, Uruguay

The action will tip off on Monday, October 28 with the duel between Mogi Das Cruzes and San Lorenzo.

Basketball Champions League Americas reached an agreement – through Torneos, a strategic partner of FIBA – with DIRECTV Sports and its multiple platforms to broadcast the competition. The action will tip off on Monday, October 28 with the duel between Mogi Das Cruzes and San Lorenzo.

DIRECTV will provide full coverage of the Basketball Champions League Americas, which will be played from October 2019 to March 2020. This will guarantee that the best basketball league of Latin America can be enjoyed on TV and streaming through DIRECTV Sports and online via DIRECTV Play,, DIRECTV Sports App and DIRECTV Go.

Carlos Alves, FIBA Americas Executive Director, referred to this new agreement of the BCLA: “We are excited to continue the long-standing partnership between FIBA and DIRECTV in this new era of basketball in the Americas. We want to reposition and elevate the competition of clubs in the continent by elaborating on a strong, relevant and sustainable ecosystem for basketball in the region. Our goal is to strengthen basketball in the Americas with a pyramid organizational structure based on our federations and leagues.”

Along the same lines, Santiago Sluzewski Monti, Director of Rights and Sponsorship of Torneos said: “For Torneos it is a great satisfaction to renew our commitment as a strategic partner of FIBA. We celebrate the development of the BCLA, as well as those initiatives and new competitions that contribute to the growth of basketball in the region.”

The first edition of the Basketball Champions League Americas has the characteristic that the teams will play at home and away during the whole season, starting on October 28. That is why it will be a guarantee of quality to have the coverage of DIRECTV, which has a strong presence throughout South America, where you can follow the participation of all teams, and especially of the teams: San Lorenzo (Buenos Aires ), Instituto (Córdoba), Quimsa (Santiago del Estero), Deportivo Valdivia (Valdivia), Aguada (Montevideo) and Biguá (Montevideo).

The new FIBA competition will start with four groups of three teams each, with two teams qualifying to the Quarter-Finals (series to the best of three games). The Semi-Finals and the Final will also be series to the best of three.

Fonte: Champions League.

Post your comment