Alvin Gentry says it was “the wrong call” late in 4th quarter after Dinwiddie’s three-point attempt

Alvin Gentry says it was “the wrong call” late in 4th quarter after Dinwiddie’s three-point attempt

Pelicans' Alvin Gentry says refs made 'wrong call' late in loss

Alvin Gentry was disappointed for the 13th consecutive loss of his New Orleans Pelicans but also for the officiating.

Per ESPN, With the score tied at 93, Brooklyn Nets guard Spencer Dinwiddie stepped back and fired a 30-foot 3-pointer as the shot clock ticked down. Just as the shot hit the backboard, the horn sounded for a violation.

No call was made despite the ball hitting the backboard to the right of the square without touching the rim, and Pelicans guard Lonzo Ball attempted to corral the rebound and get it up to Josh Hart , but time expired.

The officiating crew ruled the ball hit the rim, and thus no call was made on the floor. In overtime, the Nets beat the Pelicans 108-101.
Pelicans coach Alvin Gentry said it was “the wrong call.”
“The ball clearly did not hit the rim, and all they had to do was go over and review it to see that it didn’t hit the rim,” Gentry said. “There was at least 2.7 seconds left to go in the game after it didn’t hit the rim, and that was a shot clock violation. I asked them to review it three times. They said it clearly hit the rim.
“It would have taken five seconds to see that it didn’t. I mean, that’s all that needs to be said about it. It was clearly a ball that did not hit the rim. You guys saw it. Everybody saw it. I have no idea why they didn’t go over and review it. I don’t know if this is the correct thing or not, but I thought that at the end of the game, or in situations like that, there would always be a review.”

Source: ESPN.

Post your comment